Books to Read During Coronavirus Social Distancing: 23 Great Books Recommended By Book Lovers That'll Make You Want to Stay Home by Donna John

Books
2 months ago
Books to Read During Coronavirus Social Distancing: 23 Great Books Recommended By Book Lovers That'll Make You Want to Stay Home

Cities across the globe are asking or telling citizens to stay home due to the coronavirus pandemic. While some cringe at the thought of being home all the time, book lovers see it as an opportunity to go on a reading spree. 30Seconds community member Terri Jones recently asked her Facebook friends what was the last great book they've read. They had quite a few books to recommend that may help you pass the time while we get through this unprecedented event. 

What was the last great book you've read? Tell us in the comments section!

Take 30 seconds and join the 30Seconds community. Inspire and be inspired.

City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert
City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert $15
From the New York Times bestselling author of "Eat Pray Love" and "The Signature of All Things," a delicious novel of glamour, sex and adventure, about a young woman discovering that you don't have to be a good girl to be a good person.
The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd
The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd $11
This exquisitely written novel is a triumph of storytelling that looks with unswerving eyes at a devastating wound in American history, through women whose struggles for liberation, empowerment and expression will leave no reader unmoved.
More Than Words by Jill Santopolo
More Than Words by Jill Santopolo $12
From the New York Times bestselling author of "The Light We Lost: comes a tender and moving new novel about a woman at a crossroads after the death of her father, and caught between the love of two men.
The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo
The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo $9
This devastatingly romantic debut novel about the enduring power of first love, with a shocking, unforgettable ending, is "Love Story" for a new generation.
Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens $23
At once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story and a surprising tale of possible murder, this book has touched the hearts of millions of readers around the world.
Dopesick: Dealers, Doctors and the Drug Company That Addicted America by Beth Macy
Dopesick: Dealers, Doctors and the Drug Company That Addicted America by Beth Macy $16
In this extraordinary work, Beth Macy takes us into the epicenter of a national drama that has unfolded over two decades. From the labs and marketing departments of big pharma to local doctor's offices; wealthy suburbs to distressed small communities in Central Appalachia; from distant cities to once-idyllic farm towns; the spread of opioid addiction follows a tortuous trajectory that illustrates how this crisis has persisted for so long and become so firmly entrenched.
The Winemaker's Wife by Kristin Harmel
The Winemaker's Wife by Kristin Harmel $14
The author of the “engrossing” (People) international bestseller "The Room on Rue Amélie" returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of France during the darkest days of World War II, perfect for fans of Heather Morris’s "The Tattooist of Auschwitz."
I've Seen the Future and I'm Not Going by Peter McGough
I've Seen the Future and I'm Not Going by Peter McGough $21
A compelling memoir for our time, told with humor and compassion, about how lives can become completely entwined even in failure and what it costs to reemerge, phoenix-like, and carry on.
Parisian Lives: Samuel Beckett, Simone de Beauvoir and Me: A Memoir by Deidre Bair
Parisian Lives: Samuel Beckett, Simone de Beauvoir and Me: A Memoir by Deidre Bair $22
National Book Award-winning biographer Deirdre Bair explores her 15 remarkable years in Paris with Samuel Beckett and Simone de Beauvoir, painting intimate new portraits of two literary giants and revealing secrets of the biographical art.
Wanderers by Chuck Wendig
Wanderers by Chuck Wendig $17
A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world’s last hope. From the mind of Chuck Wendig comes “a magnum opus ... a story about survival that’s not just about you and me, but all of us, together. (Kirkus Reviews)
Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys $9
Each one born of a different homeland; each one hunted, and haunted, by tragedy, lies, war. As thousands desperately flock to the coast in the midst of a Soviet advance, four paths converge, vying for passage aboard the Wilhelm Gustloff, a ship that promises safety and freedom. But not all promises can be kept.
American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins
American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins $17
Already being hailed as "a Grapes of Wrath for our times" and "a new American classic," Jeanine Cummins's "American Dirt" is a rare exploration into the inner hearts of people willing to sacrifice everything for a glimmer of hope.
Red Mountain Rising by Boo Walker
Red Mountain Rising by Boo Walker $13
Told from four different perspectives, the rich stories of Red Mountain will leave you scrambling for a plane ticket to visit this extraordinary piece of land and meet its inhabitants.
Eleanor Oiliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
Eleanor Oiliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman $1
Soon to be a major motion picture produced by Reese Witherspoon, "Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine" is the smart, warm, and uplifting story of an out-of-the-ordinary heroine whose deadpan weirdness and unconscious wit make for an irresistible journey as she realizes.
And the Ass Saw the Angel by Nick Cave
And the Ass Saw the Angel by Nick Cave $10
Australian rock musician, lyricist and actor Nick Cave's first novel is an innovative, if wildly idiosyncratic, tall tale satirizing religious fanaticism. (Publisher's Weekly)
Dear Edward by Ann Napolitano
Dear Edward by Ann Napolitano $16
A transcendent coming-of-age story, a multidimensional portrait of an unforgettable cast of characters, and a breathtaking illustration of all the ways a broken heart learns to love again.
The Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles
The Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles $12
A transporting novel about a man who is ordered to spend the rest of his life inside a luxury hotel.
The Storyteller by Pierre Jarawan
The Storyteller by Pierre Jarawan $8
For readers of Khaled Hosseini's "The Kite Runner" comes a pacy Lebanese mystery. A man is haunted by his father’s disappearance in this acclaimed debut novel set against the backdrop of Middle Eastern politics. (The Guardian)
Rabbit Factory by Larry Brown
Rabbit Factory by Larry Brown $21
A wealthy social misfit, his much-younger wife, a runaway and a big-hearted prostitute find their lives intersecting in the wake of quirky gangster activities, strait-laced professors and fast-and-loose police officers.
Tony’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani
Tony’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani $11
Fall in love all over again with Adriana Trigiani, beloved author of "Big Stone Gap" and "The Shoemaker's Wife." If you're meeting her work for the first time, get ready for a lifelong love affair.
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger $13
A most untraditional love story, this is the celebrated tale of Henry DeTamble, a dashing, adventuresome librarian who inadvertently travels through time, and Clare Abshire, an artist whose life takes a natural sequential course. Henry and Clare’s passionate affair endures across a sea of time and captures them in an impossibly romantic trap that tests the strength of fate and basks in the bonds of love.
Educated by Tara Westover
Educated by Tara Westover $15
Born to survivalists in the mountains of Idaho, Tara Westover was 17 the first time she set foot in a classroom. Her family was so isolated from mainstream society that there was no one to ensure the children received an education, and no one to intervene when one of Tara’s older brothers became violent. When another brother got himself into college, Tara decided to try a new kind of life. Her quest for knowledge transformed her, taking her over oceans and across continents, to Harvard and to Cambridge University. Only then would she wonder if she’d traveled too far, if there was still a way home.
Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan
Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan $7
Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, the USA Today and No. 1 Amazon Charts bestseller "Beneath a Scarlet Sky" is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man’s incredible courage and resilience during one of history’s darkest hours.

30Second Mobile, Inc. is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Like Historical Fiction? Here Are a Few Books to Add to Your Reading List

Reading for Stress Relief: More Than 65 Books to Help You Escape the Real World for a While

30Seconds Recommended Reading List: Must-Read Books That Belong in Your Tote Bag

Book Lovers' Gift Guide: 10 Unique Gifts for Book Lovers That Aren’t Books

Julie Rose
Great list! 📚📚
Donna John
I read "Where the Crawdads Sing," and really enjoyed it. Going to order "The Winemaker's Wife." Historical fiction is my favorite genre. Thanks for asking that question, Terri Jones !
Terri Jones
I wrote this post before the virus hit. I love that it is now really coming in handy! Plan to do some reading today in fact. :)
Elisa A. Schmitz 30Seconds
Great list, thank you! I am finally starting to read "The Handmaid's Tale," which has been on my list for a long time. On this list, I have read "The Light We Lost," which I loved, and have "Where the Crawdads Sing" and "Educated," but not read them yet. I want to get "American Dirt" and a few others. Thanks for the suggestions, Terri Jones and Donna John !
Kathy Ast-Kutzbach
Good list! I placed a few on hold on Libby. I just finished Untamed by Glennon Doyle and highly recommend that too!!!!!❤️
Alex Bryant
Awesome list, Donna John ! I would add Trevor Romain 's "Connecting With Kids in a Disconnected World" too!

join discussion

Please login to comment.

recommended tips

30Seconds Recommended Reading List: Must-Read Books That Belong in Your Tote Bag

Reading for Stress Relief: More Than 65 Books to Help You Escape the Real World for a While

The Books That Matter to Us: Here Are 8 Must-Read Books I Love & Why!

Choosing to Be an Intentional Father to My Daughters: Here Are 2 Books That Are Helping Me

Got 30 seconds? Sign up for 30Seconds.com and get the best of our tips each week!