Hidden Gluten: Here Are 5 Surprising Snacks That May Wreck Your Gluten-Free Diet! by Amy Fothergill
4 years ago
Add to collection
When people think of gluten, the protein found in wheat, barley and rye, they usually think of obvious foods like crackers and cookies. You might be surprised to learn there are many foods that have gluten that you would not expect, especially snacks. Be careful with:
- Rice Krispies Treats: Although rice is gluten free, most crisp rice cereal has malt flavoring, which means they are not gluten free since malt is derived from barley. There are some exceptions.
- Licorice: This is one of those candies that has unexpected gluten. Once you start looking at the labels, you will see most all of them have wheat.
- Candy Like Milky Way and York Minis: There is plenty of gluten-free candy out there; you just have to look. Always check the label.
- Potato/Corn Chips: Most people think potato and corn chips are always gluten free, but not always. Pringles, for example, has wheat starch so it's off limits. Some multigrain corn chips include wheat flour in the ingredients.
- Granola Bars/Oats: Although oats don't have gluten, they can be contaminated with gluten from being growing near gluten grains or from being processed on the same equipment. Look for gluten-free oats on the label.
Related Products on Amazon We Think You May Like:
Gluten-free Snacks $4 & Up
30Second Mobile, Inc. is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.